Salman Safir, Co-President

Salman (he/him) is a second year Master of Divinity student at the Divinity School where he focuses on Shi’i Islam and mental health. Before coming to The University of Chicago, Salman graduated from Swarthmore College with a BA in Educational Studies and Psychology. He also spent time at Yale-NUS College in Singapore working as a Dean’s Fellow and Associate in Intercultural Engagement. In addition his work on DSA, he serves as Sexual Violence Prevention Peer Educator and on the student advisory board for the Office of Multicultural Student Affairs (OMSA). He is originally from Wisconsin, Oklahoma, and Ohio. Come meet with him, as he’d love to treat you for coffee or tea!

Benjamin Campbell, Co-President

Benjamin (he/him) is a second year Master of Arts student at the Divinity School where he focuses on Queer Theory and ethics. Before coming to UChicago, he received his Bachelors degree in Religious Studies from the University of Pennsylvania, where his research focused on coffee shops, specifically the unique religious space that exists within them. Outside of academics, Benjamin is an avid fan of baseball (go Cardinals!), drag shows, coffee, wine, and chicken strips. He bartends on the Riverwalk in Chicago, serves on the Leadership Team for DivOUT, Swift Hall’s LGBTQ+ Student Group, as is the Student Organizer for the Queer and Gender Studies Reading Group. 

Nicole Yan, Treasurer

Nicole (she/her) is a third year Master of Divinity student. Before coming to Chicago she worked in Shanghai, China in corporate business. She is interested in Chan and Tibetan Buddhism and facilitates a weekly meditation group on campus that meets Tuesday nights at the Spiritual Life Office. She enjoys fostering a sense of community and especially likes to meet with and learn from people of various backgrounds.

Hiatt Allen, Secretary

Hiatt (he/him) is a second year Master of Divinity & Master of Public Policy Dual Degree Student. He is a scholar at the Disciples Divinity House and is pursuing ordination in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Hiatt is from Lexington, Kentucky, where he co-founded and co-directed the Prichard Committee Student Voice Team seven years ago, a student-led education advocacy group, which he currently advises. He graduated from American University in 2017 where he studied politics and communications. Hiatt is interested in how the church can better pursue justice, and is currently working at LaSalle Street Church as an intern.

Bonnie Scott, Graduate Council Representative

Bonnie (she/her) is a first year Master of Divinity student. Before coming to Swift Hall, she did a variety of things, from working with refugees in Lesvos, Greece to teaching elementary school students and plants and nutrition on a farm in Kentucky. She completed her undergraduate degree at St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland where she studied the great books and wrote a thesis on Sappho’s fragments. She is currently seeking ordination in the Episcopal Church and thinking late into the night about what it is that makes a space sacred or holy. 

James Woodall, Funding Chair

James (he/him) is a second-year MA student and hails from New Jersey and has ceased trying to spin that fact. He is a cradle Catholic but that does not mean he thinks the church rocks. Academically his interests range throughout constructive studies, with a focus on Wittgenstein and Simone Weil, but his goals more fundamentally organize around ethical aims, looking upward while trying to keep his feet firmly on the ground. At the same time, he prefers biking to running and does so to a soundtrack mainly of Beethoven and early bluegrass.

Mark Lambert, Wellness Chair

Mark Lambert (he/him) is a sixth-year PhD candidate in the Theology area. His research focuses on theological responses to stigmatic illness, especially leprosy, and the relevance of these responses for contemporary medical ethics. Since 2016 he has been the Divinity School representative to the University’s Student Health Advisory Board.

Have questions? Want to get involved? Write to us at

The officers, representatives, and chairs serve two-year terms on the board. New officers are selected during the spring quarter for the subsequent academic year.